largersmallerreset News & Information

National Awards Won by SAGU Chapter, Evangel Student

Mon, 25 Mar 2013 - 4:19 PM CST

SAGU chapter winners
The SAGU MTNA was selected as the 2013 MTNA-Benjamin Whitten Collegiate Chapter of the Year.

The Southwestern Assemblies of God University (SAGU) Collegiate Chapter of the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) and an Evangel University senior have recently received national awards for excellence.

The SAGU MTNA was selected as the 2013 MTNA-Benjamin Whitten Collegiate Chapter of the Year during the MTNA National Conference in Anaheim, California, while Evangel University senior Christine Temple has been named the 2013 Arthur H. Barlow Student Journalist of the Year by the national Society for Collegiate Journalists (SCJ).

The MTNA-Benjamin Whitten Collegiate Chapter of the Year award honors the chapter for their commitment to the music teaching profession and MTNA, for activities strongly oriented toward music-making and teaching, and for advancing the music teacher profession among the next generation.

SAGU faculty sponsor, Dr. Lee Hing, states, "This is incredibly exciting news for all of our members. ...We are grateful for the support of our administrators, faculties, students and also the community of Waxahachie. Without their support, . . . the members of the collegiate chapter would not have had the opportunity to win such a prestigious award."

The SAGU MTNA chapter was established on May 24, 2012, and has 11 SAGU student members. MTNA has a membership of nearly 22,000 in the United States.

Christine Temple

The Barlow Award, won by Temple, allows SCJ chapter advisers an opportunity to bring national recognition to a student journalist who meets the highest standards of ethics, service, leadership and technical skills. Almost 150 colleges and universities across the nation have active SCJ chapters.

However, the selection of Temple by the SCJ committee for the award appears not to have been an overly difficult choice, despite the award committee citing "major competition" from finalists across the nation.

"She distinguished herself exceptionally on so many levels that she was the clear choice," said Bill Ruehlmann, SCJ past president and member of the selection committee.

Chapter adviser Melinda Booze, assistant professor of communication, nominated Temple.

"A notable characteristic that Christine demonstrates is that she does not hoard her knowledge, experience or expertise but invests it in younger students. She serves them, the student body and the legacy and future of The Lance [the school's yearbook] with her consistent and generous mentoring," said Booze in the nomination letter.

"Winning this award speaks to the training I received from my journalism professors and the dedication of The Lance staff members I have worked with," Temple says. "It means so much to be recognized by veteran journalists. This is a great send-off to my time at Evangel."

For more information about SAGU, located in Waxahachie, Texas, see its website. Additional information about Evangel can be found by clicking here.

Search Archives